Wilton Basics.. was basic.

I can’t wait for next week when we can move on to more advanced things. I have to say, I did have a ton of fun at my first class last night. It was surprising uneventful, however. I expected buttercream splattered all over me or piping bags squirting the person next to me. No. We piped stars. Haha.

The class teacher did give us tips for baking and icing round cakes as well as torting them. That was interesting. Until she told us to bring an 8in round cake and 2 containers of buttercream for next week. UMmMm.. in case you haven’t yet picked up on it, I don’t bake cakes. I don’t think I’ve actually baked a cake in my life! Cheesecake, cookies, cupcakes, no prob bob. But, for real, you should look forward to the pictures of me trying to actually make a cake early next week. It will be interesting. We should be getting to just cupcakes soon, too.

I think the best part of the night was when the room started smelling of buttercream. It was heavenly. She told us to only use shortening with trans fats because they hold up better. Umm.. Aren’t they considered bad for a reason??

Does anyone actually have a problem with good old Crisco shortening? Thoughts?

Until next time, Cupcake.

Leave a Reply

